Home     LIVE!     Features     Order     Calendar     Results     Your account     Manager login         

Hoosier Crossroads NSDA District Congress

RegistrationGeneral informationFiles for downloadTournament scheduleFinal

General information

This information is from a tournament in a past season!

This is a High School tournament in Indiana.

View manager contact information

District Congress at Columbus East on Saturday, February 16th.
Check-in is Saturday at 7:30 AM.  First round is at 8:30 AM.
SpeechWire registration deadlines: team entries before Monday, Feb. 11 at 5 PM,  and judges before Wednesday, Feb. 13 at 5 PM.
All participating schools must have an active NSDA membership before entry registration on Monday, Feb. 11, 2019.  Students must be NSDA members (minimum degree of merit) prior to the event.  All NSDA fees must be current within 48 hours of the tournament.
HC will qualify 2 representatives in the House with 16-29 participating students, or 4 representatives with 30-58 participating students.  Additionally, HC will qualify 2 students in the Senate, if 8 or more schools participate.  If fewer than 8 schools are represented, no Senate may be seated.  If this is the case, all students registered in the Senate will be moved to the House.
Schools may register a maximum of House and Senate allotments based upon the number of active members and degrees on record with the national office prior to the district tournament entry deadline.
Students who have qualified in debate events must submit a single letter of intent at the beginning of the Congressional Debate tournament.
Scorer and parliamentarian ranks are inputted (software automatically considers non-ranked students as ranks of 9, and uses higher parliamentarian ranks as tie-breaks only). Each individual chamber is tabulated independent of others. Legislators with the lowest cumulative rank total advance to the next level of competition, employing the following tiebreakers:
1. Judges’ preference (or students’ preference for the student rank option below)
2. Reciprocal fractions
3. Adjusted cumulative rank total after dropping highest and lowest ranks
4. Reciprocals of adjusted cumulative rank total
5. Rank by the parliamentarian (ranking first to last)
National Qualifiers are determined by rank total from the final round.
Presiding Officers will be nominated and elected from students in each chamber.  Once elected in a session, POs may not relinquish the gavel to speak on legislation.  POs will be ranked by the parliamentarian and judges based on their presiding skills.
No Internet usage during rounds.  Scouting is strongly discouraged.
One parliamentarian  and two judges for the preliminary round, and one parliamentarian and three judges for the final round.  
Judges must be entered on SpeechWire by Wednesday, Feb. 13, 2019 at 5 PM.  
Judge requirements per school entries:
1-2 entries = 1 judge
3-5 entries = 2 judges
6-9 entries = 3 judges
10-12 entries = 4 judges (1 clean)
A clean judge has no personal or social relationship with any of the team members.
HC will use SpeechWire to section and distribute students from the same school among chambers in each division (Senate and House) ensuring chamber size within each division is consistent and no more than 29 contestants. Students will be randomly placed in each chamber by the tabulation software; coaches may not select which chamber their students will compete in.

A student from the school (or at the national level, the district) who wrote the legislation gets the privilege of recognition (called authorship), regardless of precedence; otherwise the presiding officer may recognize a “sponsor” from the chamber, provided this recognition follows the precedence guidelines. Regardless, this speech of introduction must be followed by two minutes of questions. Should no student seek recognition for the authorship/sponsorship, the chamber will move to lay the legislation on the table until such time that a student is prepared to introduce it. Also, the first negative speech must be followed by two minutes of questions.

Presiding officers will be elected from the student chamber each session (prelims and finals).  POs will be ranked based on their performance among the speakers.  POs who relinquish the gavel to speak on legislation will be replaced by the parliamentarian and will not be allowed to act as PO until the next session.
Please contact Wally Austin at waustin.nafcs.org or 812-951-3416, if you have any questions.

Manager contact information

Email address: waustin@nafcs.org
Phone number: 8129513416

Mailing address

None provided

SpeechWire Tournament Services - Copyright 2004-2019 Ben Stewart. All Rights Reserved. Terms of use - Privacy and Security Policy