You and your students are invited to the November 2, 2013 *Valparaiso Dr. Larry B. Stuber Memorial Debate Tournament*.

- ❖ Congress All students will compete in the morning Preliminary round. The Top 16 competitors per Chamber will advance to the Super Round in the afternoon. All others will compete in the Consolation Round in the afternoon.
 - Legislation for a.m. Preliminary session: 7, 11, 12
 - Legislation for p.m. Final session: 5, 8, 10
 - If you are bringing a PO, it must be noted on the registration sheet

Lincoln-Douglas

Debaters will be speaking on the **November/December** topic as noted by the NFL

Public Forum Debate

Debaters will be speaking on the *November* topic as noted by the NFL

Policy Debate

> IHSFA Novice Restrictions

* Awards @ 4:00 p.m., CST

Yes (Gavels, Ribbons and Sweepstakes Trophies for Top 4 Teams)

Judges

- ➤ 1 judge per 4 debaters (5 debaters = 2 judges, etc.)
- ➤ All judges must be prepared to judge all events
- > Judges must stay in the building and be available for the entire tournament
- ➤ Varsity debaters with a minimum 2 years experience and 250 points may judge only novice events. 2013 high school debate graduates must judge novice only.

* Food

- > Students ~ breakfast, lunch & snack items will be available for purchase in the Cafeteria
- > Judges ~ breakfast and lunch items will be available in the Teacher's Lunch Room

* Registration

- Registration on *Speech Wire* www.speechwire.com
 - DUE by 3 pm on Thursday, October 31, 2013 (Registration will remain open after the deadline for drops only.)
 - This is an Open Tournament, however you must be a Registered User in order to use *SpeechWire* to register
 - Novice = an individual with no previous high school speech or debate experience.
 - Send registration questions to Sharon Shepard at <u>sshepard@valpo.k12.in.us</u> or 219-921-3237
 - Final registration is Saturday, November 2 at Valparaiso from 7:00 to 7:30 a.m. (CST).
 - Rounds will start promptly at 8 am (CST)

We're looking forward to seeing everyone in Valpo!

Chriselle Waters, Sharon Shepard (coaches) & the VHS Speech & Debate Teams