Home     LIVE!     Features     Order     Calendar     Results     Your account     Manager login         

Conference Challenge

RegistrationGeneral informationSchematicsFiles for downloadTournament scheduleFeesFinal

General information

This is a College tournament in Illinois.

View manager contact information


Friends and Colleagues:

The Conference Challenge Committee is pleased to invite you to the Conference Challenge on January 20, 2019, hosted at Northwestern University in Evanston, IL.  College of DuPage, a little under an hour drive away, will be hosting the Frank-ly Speaking Tournament on Saturday. We hope you will join us for a great weekend of competition.

We are pleased to offer all 11 NSC Events.  Event descriptions can be found at nationalspeechchampionship.com. Awards will be presented to the top six speakers in each event, top six speakers in Individual Sweepstakes, and the top five schools in team sweepstakes.

The tournament will also feature a special conference challenge sweepstakes to determine the top team from each athletic conference over the course of the tournament. Because some schools are in multiple conferences, we ask that you indicate which conference you are a part of on your tournament entry or by emailing the tournament director, Ryan Lauth, at r-lauth@northwestern.edu.  The top students in each event from each conference who place in final rounds will also be recognized. Please note that the bragging rights from this challenge are taken quite seriously by many administrators, especially those at Northwestern and UNL. For this reason, all students from the host schools will be competing, even with events that have qualified for the AFA-NIET (note: this is only true for our Sunday tournament). Please enjoy the opportunity to compete with your best events as well.

Please enter the tournament by using speechwire.com before 5pm on Tuesday January 15th, 2019. Fees are $8 per IE entry. One judge will be required for every six entries or fraction thereof. Uncovered entries are each $12. Drop fees will be assessed after noon on Wednesday, January 16th. The drop fee for IE is $15 per dropped entry and $50 per dropped judge. Please contact the tournament director, Ryan Lauth, at r-lauth@northwestern.edu if your team needs any fee waivers in order to attend. We are happy to provide any assistance.

More information about the tournament will be available on speechwire as the tournament approaches.

We look forward to hosting you soon!






January 20, 2019


8:00am – Extemp Draw

8:30am – Round 1A (EXT, PERS, DUO, PRO, POI, ADS)

9:45am – Round 1B (IMP, CA, INF, DI, POE)

11:00pm – Lunch**

11:30pm – Extemp Draw

12:00pm – Round 2A (EXT, PERS, DUO, PRO, POI, ADS)

1:15pm – Round 2B (IMP, CA, INF, DI, POE)

2:30pm – Extemp Draw for Finals

2:45pm – Finals A (EXT, PERS, DUO, PRO, POI, ADS)

4:00pm – Finals B (IMP, CA, INF, DI, POE)

 ASAP– Awards


Rules and




Individual Sweepstakes

All students will be entered in Individual Sweepstakes. The top six students in Individual Sweepstakes will be recognized.



Team sweepstakes will be awarded to the top five teams at the tournament based on final round points.


Points will be awarded as follows:


12 Points – 1st Place in open final                               

10 Points – 2nd Place in open final                              

8 Points – 3rd Place in open final                                  

6 Points – 4th Place in open final                                   

4 Points – 5th Place in open final                                  

2 Points – 6th Place in open final                                   


1 Point – Additional finalists or Non-advancing Semifinalist –


Only a team’s two best finishers will score team sweepstakes points. To clarify, a team may enter an unlimited number in any event and may take up every spot in the final round but only the top two finishers will count toward sweepstakes points.

Manager contact information

Ryan Lauth
Email address: R-lauth@northwestern.edu
Phone number:

Mailing address

None provided

SpeechWire Tournament Services - Copyright 2004-2019 Ben Stewart. All Rights Reserved. Terms of use - Privacy and Security Policy